Vancouver Canucks nominate Elias Pettersson for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Photo credit:Bob Frid-USA TODAY Sports
Mike Gould
11 months ago
The Vancouver Canucks have named forward Elias Pettersson their 2023 nominee for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, the club announced Tuesday afternoon.
Each of the National Hockey League’s 32 member clubs submitted a nominee for the award, which is presented annually “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”
Former New Jersey Devils defenceman P.K. Subban won the award after the 2021–22 season, which would end up being his last in the NHL before his retirement.
Members of the Canucks have received the King Clancy Memorial Trophy on three separate occasions. Trevor Linden won the award in 1997 in recognition of his “Captain’s Crew” program, which allowed underprivileged children to attend Canucks games; then, after Henrik Sedin was named the solo winner in 2016, both Sedin twins were recognized for their career off-ice achievements in 2018.
The winner of the 2023 King Clancy Memorial Trophy will receive $25,000 for the charity of their choice, while the two runners-up will each receive $5,000.
In determining this year’s winner of the King Clancy Trophy, the selection committee — led by NHL commissioner Gary Bettman and deputy commissioner Bill Daly — will take six criteria into account:
  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
  • Investment of time and resources
  • Commitment to a particular cause or community
  • Commitment to the League’s community initiatives
  • Creativity of programming
  • Use of influence; engagement of others
New this year, hockey fans can support causes championed by some of the nominees by visiting www.Alltroo.com/KingClancy. Although Pettersson isn’t currently one of the players featured, Canucks fans can take note that the page will be live between May 9 and June 27.
Pettersson, 24, set new career-best marks in every offensive category during the 2022–23 regular season, leading the Canucks with 39 goals and 102 points while finishing second to Quinn Hughes with 63 assists. The wiry Swede is under contract through the 2024 at a $7.35 million cap hit.
The King Clancy nominees from the other six Canadian teams are Mikael Backlund (Calgary), Darnell Nurse (Edmonton), Jordan Harris (Montreal), Brady Tkachuk (Ottawa), Morgan Rielly (Toronto), and Blake Wheeler (Winnipeg).
The winner of the 2023 King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be announced at the 2023 NHL Awards on June 26.

Check out these posts...