Breaking down the Hall of Fame cases (and the competition) for the Sedins, Luongo, and Mogilny as 2022 vote nears

Photo credit:© Bob Frid-USA TODAY Sports
David Quadrelli
1 year ago
This year’s Hockey Hall of Fame induction class could feature up to four former Canucks.
Daniel Sedin, Henrik Sedin, Roberto Luongo, and Alex Mogilny are all eligible to be a part of this year’s Hockey Hall of Fame induction class.
After a lengthy delay due to COVID-19, the 2020 class — which featured Jarome Iginla, Marian Hossa, Kevin Lowe, Doug Wilson, Ken Holland and Kim St. Pierre — was finally inducted into the hall last November.
The HHOF decided not to induct a class of 2021, meaning that on Monday, voters will be selecting a 2022 class to be inducted into the Hall this November.
2022 will be the first year of eligibility for the Sedins and Luongo, but as you’ll read shortly, it’s been a bit of a longer process for Mogilny.

Breaking down each Canuck’s HHOF resume

Alex Mogilny

It still boggles the mind how Alex Mogilny — the first-ever Soviet player to defect west and the first-ever Russian captain in NHL history — has been passed over for the Hall of Fame for over a decade.
Mogilny, along with Rod Brind’Amour and Curtis Joseph, has long awaited his call to the Hall, and Mogilny deserves to receive that call, full stop.
Unlike some recent inductees and some of the players he will once again be up against — Mogilny was over a point per game player by the end of his career.
Mogilny played in 990 NHL games over 16 seasons and scored 473 goals and 1,032 points. He won the Stanley Cup with the Devils in 2000 and also won an Olympic gold medal with the Soviet Union in 1988.
Mogilny was first eligible for Hall of Fame induction in 2009, and it remains a mystery how he’s gone this long without being inducted.

Daniel and Henrik Sedin

It’s Henrik and Daniel Sedin’s first year of eligibility, and we’re assuming that any voter who has one on their ballot will have the other, meaning it’s likely they get inducted in the same year.
You don’t need a summary of the twins’ accomplishments, but we’ll give you a quick one anyway.
Henrik became the first Canuck to capture the Hart Trophy for league MVP and Art Ross Trophy in 2009-10 when he recorded 112 points in 89 games.
Daniel is the Canucks’ all-time leader in goals with 393, and captured both the Art Ross and Ted Lindsay Award in the 2010-11 season.
Although they never won a cup, the twins deserve every honour that’s been bestowed upon them to this point, and being inducted to the Hockey Hall of Fame is no exception.

Roberto Luongo

The winningest goalie in Canucks history, Roberto Luongo has long been thought to be a first-ballot Hall of Famer by many.
Luongo played 19 seasons in the NHL and posted a .919 save percentage, the highest of any goaltender to appear in at least 900 NHL games. He sits fourth in league history with 489 wins and ninth with 77 shutouts.
Simply put, Luongo’s sustained level of excellence over such a long period of time has been matched by very few goaltenders in history.
Like the Sedins, it’s a shame that Luongo never won a Stanley Cup — especially if you’re a Canucks fan — but did secure two gold medals with Team Canada.
It’s not so much a matter of if Luongo will be inducted, but more so when.

The Competition

When trying to determine if a player should be inducted this class, it’s important to note who they’ll be up against on voter’s ballots.
Some notable names are:
Henrik Zetterberg: 337 goals and 960 points over 1,082 games, all with the Red Wings. After winning a gold medal alongside the Sedin twins in 2006, Zetterberg was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy after scoring 27 points in 22 games en route to securing a Stanley Cup Championship for Detroit in 2008.
This is Zetterberg’s first year of eligibility.
Daniel Alfredsson: Over 1,246 career games, Daniel Alfredsson totalled 1,157 points, and tallied 100 playoff points over 124 postseason contests. He played all but one season with the Ottawa Senators, the team that drafted him in the sixth round of the 1994 NHL Entry Draft.
He won the Calder Trophy for the league’s top rookie in 1996 and also won the King Clancy Trophy and Mark Messier Award later in his career. He was instrumental in Sweden’s gold medal win in 2006.
This is Alfredsson’s fifth year of eligibility.
Patrik Elias: Patrik Elias holds multiple New Jersey Devils records with 408 goals, 1,025 points, 45 playoff goals, and 125 playoff points in his career. Elias spent his entire career with the Devils, with whom he won two cups, and sits second behind only Jaromir Jagr for all-time NHL points among Czech players.
2022 marks Elias’ third year of eligibility.
Rod Brind’Amour: Deserves the call at some point for sure. The Trail, B.C. product won back-to-back Selke Trophies in 2006 and 2007, and was vital to the Hurricanes’ defeat of the Oilers in the 2006 Stanley Cup Final.
As a player, Brind’Amour scored 452 goals and 1,184 points over the course of 1,484 NHL games, but his HHOF case can certainly be helped by his coaching career as well, as he won the Jack Adams Award in 2020-21.
This is his ninth year of eligibility, and that’s honestly quite surprising.

So who gets inducted?

Four male players who will be inducted into the HHOF this year.
Alex Mogilny, Rod Brind’Amour, Daniel Sedin, and Henrik Sedin seem like, in our eyes, at least, to be the most deserving players of getting the call this year.

Failed to load video.

More from CanucksArmy:

Check out these posts...