Pettersson scores but Team Hughes loses to Team Matthews at All-Star Game

Photo credit:John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports
Mike Gould
4 months ago
All six participating Vancouver Canucks players were eliminated in the first round of the 3-on-3 tournament at the 2024 NHL All-Star Game on Saturday.
After Elias Lindholm and Team MacKinnon lost 4-3 in a shootout to Team McDavid earlier in the afternoon, the remaining five Canucks players hit the ice with Team Hughes against Team Matthews.
In the end, only one of the Canucks’ half-dozen representatives ended up scoring a goal at the All-Star Game. Elias Pettersson scored the third goal of the game for Team Hughes, tying it at three midway through the second half.
Anaheim Ducks forward Frankie Vatrano and Tampa Bay Lightning winger Nikita Kucherov picked up the helpers on Pettersson’s nifty All-Star goal.
Canucks goaltender Thatcher Demko stopped seven of the 10 shots he faced in the game. But none of the other Canucks All-Stars were able to score against Team Matthews, not even in the eventual shootout.
Pettersson and J.T. Miller both took penalty shots against New York Rangers goaltender Igor Shesterkin in the shootout — and both were denied. Alex DeBrincat scored the only goal in the shootout to clinch a 6-5 victory for Team Matthews.
Miller, Pettersson, Demko, Quinn Hughes, and Brock Boeser can take solace in knowing that they lost to the eventual champions. Led by Matthews, Clayton Keller, and Mat Barzal, Team Matthews defeated Team McDavid by a 7-4 score in the final game to win the 3-on-3 tournament.
Morgan Rielly, William Nylander, Mitch Marner, and Matthews all played in front of their hometown fans in Toronto at the All-Star Game and shared in the $1 million prize winnings for being part of the victorious team. Matthews was also named All-Star MVP.
Now that the All-Star Game is behind them, the Canucks can focus on getting back in the swing of things for the rest of the 2023-24 regular season. Elias Lindholm will make his Canucks debut when the team returns to action on February 6 to take on the Carolina Hurricanes.

Check out these posts...