Kole Lind left off Canucks’ Seattle Expansion Draft protection list

Photo credit:© Dan Hamilton-USA TODAY Sports
David Quadrelli
2 years ago
The 10 AM EST deadline for teams to get their protection lists for the Seattle Kraken expansion draft has now passed, and the Canucks’ list has been made official.
Of their forwards, Vancouver will protect Elias Pettersson (F), Brock Boeser (F), J.T. Miller (F), Bo Horvat (F), Tanner Pearson (F), Tyler Motte (F) and the newly acquired Jason Dickinson (F).
On the backend, the Canucks will protect Tyler Myers, Nate Schmidt, Olli Juolevi, and of course goaltender Thatcher Demko.
Names like Quinn Hughes, Nils Höglander, and Jack Rathbone aren’t on the above lists because they are exempt from the expansion draft process due to a lack of games played.
Jonah Gadjovich and Kole Lind, both of whom the Canucks drafted in 2017, are both unprotected, as are Zack MacEwen and Matthew Highmore. 
Lind got a seven-game audition with the Canucks toward the end of this season, but failed to record any points while registering a plus-minus of -4.
There’s likely still upside and potential there, meaning he could be an enticing selection candidate for Seattle.
That being said, the Kraken have been linked to Braden Holtby, although reports suggest that Seattle would like to acquire Holtby in a side deal in which the Canucks retain some of the veteran netminder’s salary.
The Seattle Expansion Draft takes place on Wednesday, July 21st.

Check out these posts...