Elias Pettersson cleans up as Canucks announce 2022-23 team award winners

Photo credit:© Bob Frid-USA TODAY Sports
David Quadrelli
1 year ago
Throughout tonight’s contest with the Calgary Flames, the Vancouver Canucks announced the winners of their team awards for the 2022-23 season.
There were seven awards handed out tonight, four of which came as a result of a fan vote. Let’s start with those four.
Elias Pettersson: Cyclone Taylor Trophy – “Most Valuable Player”
To the surprise of absolutely nobody, Elias Pettersson took home the Canucks’ team MVP honours. Pettersson entered tonight’s game with 98 points on the year, and has solidified himself as one of the game’s best two-way forwards this season.
He’s been effective at 5 on 5, on the power play, and on the penalty kill as well. To read more about Pettersson’s spectacular season, click here.
Quinn Hughes: Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy – “Best Defenceman”
Perhaps even less surprising that Pettersson taking home MVP honours, Quinn Hughes was named the Canucks’ best defenceman. Just like he was last year, and the year before that, and just like he will be for many, many more years in the future.
Andrei Kuzmenko: Pavel Bure Award – “Most Exciting Player”
Andrei Kuzmenko was named the Canucks’ most exciting player. Although technically not a rookie, Kuzmenko has experienced one of the most successful debut seasons in club history, breaking Pavel Bure’s goal scoring record and sitting two goals away from 40 with three games remaining on the year.
Kuzmenko’s goal celebrations alone seem like enough for him to go home with this award.
Dakota Joshua: Fred J. Hume Award – “Unsung Hero”
Dakota Joshua’s first season as a Canuck went about as well as anyone could have hoped for. Joshua has appeared in a career-high 75 games and has recorded career-highs in goals and assists as well (11-11-22). Joshua has played up and down the Canucks’ lineup this season and is a solid choice for unsung hero.
Now for the non fan-voted awards…
Brock Boeser: Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award – “Community Leadership”
Elias Pettersson: Cyrus H. McLean Trophy – “Leading Scorer”
Elias Pettersson: Three Stars Award – “Most Three Stars Selections”

Check out these posts...