Canucks prospect Ty Mueller has been nominated for the 2024 Hobey Baker Award

Photo credit:Ashley Huss
Dave Hall
4 months ago
With just a few weeks remaining in the NCAA hockey schedule, this year’s 2024 Hobey Baker nominations have begun to roll out.
The Hobey Baker Award is a prestigious accolade presented each year to the most outstanding college hockey player within the NCAA circuit.
Vancouver Canucks 2023 fourth-round pick Ty Mueller has been nominated for the award this year.
The Cochrane, Alberta native is enjoying a standout season with the University of Nebraska-Omaha and is poised to surpass his previous career highs. With 12 games remaining in the regular season, he is just six points away from matching his 2022-23 production.
Mueller leads his team in goals (8), assists (11), points (19), shots (62), and ranks second on the team with 17 blocked shots. He also sits ninth among NCHC skaters with a 54.7% faceoff percentage and is currently sporting a four-game point streak, with six points during that span.
This marks the second consecutive season Mueller has been nominated, as he was one of two Nebraska-Omaha nominations from last year.
The nomination is the initial step toward potentially becoming a finalist and, ultimately, winning the Hobey Baker Award.
The award selection process involves several stages, and according to the NCAA website, there are four criteria used to consider Hobey Baker Memorial Award nominees:
  • Strength of character, on and off the ice
  • Contribution to the integrity of the team and outstanding skills in all phases of the game
  • Scholastic achievement and sportsmanship
  • Compliance with all NCAA rules, including being a full-time student in an accredited college or university and completing 50 percent or more of the season
There are three steps involved in the award’s selection process.
First, the head coaches of NCAA DI hockey schools nominate the top three players in their respective leagues and the top three players in the nation. College hockey fans participate in voting online, and the top 10 finalists are announced (March 20th, 2024).
Next, voting begins for the “Hobey Hat Trick,” which narrows the award field from ten finalists to three (April 4th, 2024).
The winner is then selected from this trio of players. The voting in this step of the process is by the Hobey Baker Memorial Award Selection Committee. There is also a round of fan voting in this step of the process.
The Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner is announced in a nationally televised ceremony (April 11, 2024).
Once the ballot opens, fans can vote from the Hobey Baker website.
Mueller hits the ice on Friday afternoon, as his Nebraska-Omaha Mavericks travel to St. Cloud State. Puck drop is at 4:30 PM Pacific Time.

Check out these posts...